Education battle continues….

It has been a weird few days.

I got an email from the SEN team

Just wanted to update you on Dinky’s Statutory Assessment. As you know we were waiting for the OT report in order to write a draft statement, this was received on Monday and the file was given to statement writers to start work on. We are due to inform you of our decision on 17th March, but as we received the OT report late there may be a slight delay in producing the draft statement. I will let you know the outcome as soon as possible.

Kind regards

Which I am assuming means Dinky will get a statement as they don’t write draft statements if they are going to give a note in lieu.

Then I got a letter from the SENCO.

please find enclosed a reviewed IEP and a new one outlining Dinky’s targets.
We are sorry that you were not able to attend the meeting scheduled for today, therefore we have notified the relevant agencies that Dinky is not currently attending school.
We look forward to receiving the outcome of Dinky’s statutory assessment very soon.

The reviewed IEP:

Target: To form the letters d, a, g  correctly

How will I know: dinky will form the letters d, a, g correctly with clear ascenders and decenders on 3/5 occasions

Who/ what will help: TA will work through the programme ‘write from the start’ with dinky and will practice these letters.

how did I get on: still working towards target

Target: I will go to my quiet space when I need to be on my own or feel like running out of the room

How will I know: I will go to my quiet area, have calming down time and then rejoin my activity when an adult asks at least once a day.

Who/what will help: adults will remind me to go to my quiet space and encourage me to use this rather than running off, they will praise me when I choose this and then join my activity.

How did I get on: still working towards this target

I did say it was a rubbish IEP and not very helpful.

New IEP

Target 1: to be able to carry out learning activities with my teaching assistant.

How will I know: dinky will take part in learning activities with her TA 75% of the time

Who/ what will help: TA will meet me in the morning. I will take part in some personalised learning activities and will be praised when I do so. My now and next board will help me to know when I need to take part in these activities.

Target 2: to form the letters d and a correctly

How will I know: will form the letters d and a correctly on 3/5 occasions.

Who/what will help: TA will word (she is almost as bad as me with typos!) through the ‘write from the start’ with dinky and will focus on these letters.

I then left a message for the education welfare department.

Then got an email from the department of education.

Thank you for providing me with further information. I attach a letter to inform you that I will investigate your complaint but I do need a further response from you by next Friday.

So I gave her the information she requested and sent it back. Part of it was giving my permission for details of the complaint to be shared with the school.

I then received a call from education welfare for the school who was surprised that they hadn’t contacted them at all considering I told them I wouldn’t be sending Dinky! I explained everything that has happened and she is going to investigate and get back to me.

Then I emailed the SENCO

Thank you for your letter.

I have contacted the education welfare officer for the school, she hadn’t heard from yourself yet, however we did have a conversation about the current situation.

I have also heard that Dinky’s file has been given to the statement writers to start work on. Although there is to be a slight delay in producing the draft statement.

The school should also be aware that they may be contacted by the department of education.

I shall file the IEP, although I am sure it will remain much like its predecessors, unattainable and unfulfilled.

Regards

Dinky’s mum

It is safe to say I am NOT impressed with the school AT ALL!!!

I am extremely happy that Dinky should be getting a statement and I will be able to ask for her to go to special school. I think things will be much better when she is in a different educational setting. (It has been hard as Dinky has been making lots of demands to go to places and not happy when we can’t, and when we do she is anxious about the travelling and getting worse with waiting.)

I have social care to sort out next week, the social worker is coming to the house on Monday.

Should be interesting!

4 thoughts on “Education battle continues….

Add your comment here...

