I’m off to bang my head on a brick wall…. (school issues… more school issues!)

It is getting to the point with the school where I just have to expect the most ignorant and irresponsible things to occur!

Take today and the last 2, no 3, actually 8 weeks.

Ok seriously today was the biggest joke.

This morning Dinky decides that again, she doesn’t want to go to school. So I get kicked and punched while she ‘thinks’. Her choice was a simple one.

  1. She stayed home which means she will not be allowed to go to the attendance treat, which also meant no tv, no tab, no ipod, no toys= no fun
  2. She goes to school and gets to go on the attendance treat at the end of term.

It was a battle for her to accept her choice of the attendance treat (dinky can not turn down a go on a bouncy castle!).
Once it was time to leave I could sense that we were going to go through the same thing we had for the past 2 weeks, so I decided to try and head her off. I said she could take her, now fully grown, cress into school today. She was holding it carefully so I managed to get out without being attacked!

 

On the way she said the usual

“my tummy hurts”, “my feet are burning”, “I have runned out of energy”, “I’m too tired to walk”.

God forbid that one day she does have a tummy ache, I would not believe her for a second!

When we got to school she was interrupting all the adults showing them her lovely fully grown cress. She paid no attention to them saying they were busy, she had the cress, they had to look at the cress! She was then messing about with the activity which involved scissors.

Once she was done she went back to end of the week teacher and was showing her the cress again, then she was showing the other children, she got them all to sit around her while she told them what she used to make them grow.

As I left I asked end of the week teacher if Dinky was allowed on the school trip. Apparently it would have been ok, up until last Thursday when Dinky was playing up… Contact book says

“”Dinky is still very wriggly on the carpet but has had a good day. She has been mixing all day with a new friend (smiley face)””

Hmmm, nothing in that to suggest anything out of the blue! Friday was majorly different. As I wrote on here she cut a hole in her school jumper, had spat and all sorts at school.

I asked if she meant Friday, she said, Thursday as well, and she couldn’t understand the trigger for the change, Friday is music and PE, and most kids find Friday harder as it is much more structured and different to their normal routine.

She said that I would have to speak to the head teacher about it as there is a risk element.

Basically Dinky is not being invited on the school trip.

Ok I thought, I would just go and see the head teacher as I am supposed to be meeting her now. So I left dinky teaching her class mates.

I went to the office to be told that the head wasn’t in this morning, but she would be in in the afternoon. I told them she said to come by today after I had dropped dinky off. She looked puzzled. I told her I was not happy and that I expected better from a head.

I went into town and got more ink for my printer along with some other supplies, and came home to read up on the disability discrimination act, SENCOP (Sen code of practice), and the equality act. All in regard to schools and children.

I then wrote a letter to the school saying that Dinky is classed as having a disability, hence having been awarded DLA, and that means that she should be protected by the disability discrimination act. I highlighted the relevant parts, and then wrote this at the end

“”This means that under the above legislation, reasonable adjustments must be made to ensure that Dinky is not discriminated against on the account of her disability. Her disability, while not yet defined by medical professional in terms of diagnosis, includes her behavioural issues.

The school can not say that I have not informed them, or tried to inform them, that Dinky has additional/special needs, which includes the nature of her disability.

Also, while caution is advisable, I might remind the school that Dinky has been on a number of successful trips, both with her previous school and with xxxx. (xxxx is a charity which runs groups for children with special/additional needs- disabilities). Granted she requires 1:1 on such occasions, but I do not see how this is not a “reasonable adjustment” that can be made for this trip to ensure that dinky is not discriminated against by being excluded.

Of course if the school has reasons which do not pertain to her disability, I would be happy to receive this in writing on headed paper and signed by either the Head teacher or other responsible member of the senior leadership team who are responsible for making these decisions.””

 

Hopefully this will mean that she will be accepted, if they have a loophole they can wiggle through then I will have to say that not allowing her to go will cause more issues because the staff, going on what was done previously, will talk about nothing but the trip for weeks leading up to and after the trip. Dinky found the whole thing rather upsetting and I think the only reason she wasn’t more upset is because I took her to the London eye, the aquarium and London Zoo. I will have to do something else with her to distract her from the fact that once again she will be excluded.

This will bring me nicely onto the point about her SEN status, as they can’t exclude her from 2 trips and then deny there is an issue. It doesn’t work that way.

 

So I printed off the letter and took it to the school, the receptionists face was a picture, as she scanned the letter… it was a mix of shock and disbelief!

I left to get dinky and was met by the head of early years. Dinky did not have a good day at school…

  • she refused to take part in learning activities today
  • she hid under the table during phonics
  • she messed about during PE and music
  • she hid during playtime, giving end of the week teacher the run around (which I had to try NOT to laugh at!)
  • She wouldn’t sit for carpet time
  • And finally… she punched a kid in the face for seemingly no reason

At which point Dinky piped up

“Yes, but I did write the boy a sorry letter.”

Hmmm.

So the head of early years wasn’t impressed and nor was end of the week teacher. To be fair I can handle all of the stuff accept her punching the kid in the face!

Then out of the blue the head teacher turned up! She asked if I could meet with me on Monday at 9am. During this Dinky asked if she could go to the park, and I said no because she punched a boy in the face. That was it… she was off. I had to chase her, then get her to go back in to get her book bag, she then went under the table and threw books at me. Then she tried to throw a chair at me. All because we were not going to the park!

I calmed her down by taking her to the shop and letting her choose what we were going to have for dinner and letting her pick the weekend lunch snacks.

Once home I realised that we had left Simba at school! Dinky was not happy, but she didn’t kick off. Actually she was much calmer this afternoon, which was very nice!

I think (obviously apart from punching other children which I do not condone and I feel terrible for the boy involved), that I much prefer it when she avoids all demands at school. It makes for a much nicer home child and now the school cant give me that superior judgement grin, because it is not a home handling issue, as she can be good, and now just as bad for them! I just hope she doesn’t hit the teachers, as I can guess that that will lead to her being permanently excluded!

 

So my meeting with the head teacher did not go ahead, but now I have more ammunition for Monday. It will be very interesting to see what they have to say.

So that is today… we shall see what the weekend brings… which is hopefully a lot better than this week!

2 thoughts on “I’m off to bang my head on a brick wall…. (school issues… more school issues!)

Add your comment here...

