Weekend, and getting ready for meeting with head teacher.. take 2!

This weekend has not exactly been fantastic, but in no means the worst.

Saturday morning Dinky was not in the best of moods and neither was I. When my dad came over at 2pm I asked him if he would watch dinky while I went food shopping. So I went out and got back at 4pm, I made dinner and ran dinky a bath. She loves the bath, I think she likes playing in the water. The biggest problems we have with bath time is hair washing and getting out. Hair washing drives me mad! Dinky refuses to stay still and will do anything to get out of having it done. I can not reacall how many times I have gotten soaked in the process. If her hair wasn’t so long and so curly it wouldn’t be too much of an issue, but it needs to be conditioned with detangle solution otherwise the bigger problem would be brushing her hair every day. I know she hates having the water on her face. It is hilarious at swim lessons because they put the rings to pick off the bottom in, instead of diving down to get them dinky found that if she felt for it with her foot she could scoop it up! The teachers are now baffled at how to teach her to dive down, or even put her face in the water because she is smart enough to get out of it. Anyway, she went to bed Saturday night and my dad and I watched inception with some snacks.

Sunday- today, Father’s day.
I feel kinda bad because this father’s day wasn’t exactly what I planned. First of all, dinky woke my dad up and left me sleeping, I didn’t get up until 10.30am. I told my dad he should have sent dinky into me, but he said I looked shattered last night.

Dinky was not exactly playing ball today. Sundays are becoming big issues, especially when dinky is reminded that it is school the following day.

Dinky tore all the school days off her calendar and threw them behind the small unit, she then pulled the washing over, threw her wooden chairs around, pulled her books off the bookcase, spat at my dad and emptied her craft drawers on the floor. My dad picked her up and took her to her room where she could be as destructive as she wanted as 99% of the things up there are dinky proof. I said I would stay with her but dad said It was ok, he would deal with it.  

I listened as he tried to clam her and gave up while she trashed her room. Eventually she came down after she trod on one of her toys and hurt her foot. I cuddled her, she was racking and I felt for her.

She was then very on edge all afternoon. I hadn’t managed to get her to do any of her homework except to plant the seed and water it. She wrote ‘mi’ and then scribbled all over the page and said she wasn’t doing. She said she couldn’t write because she was too stupid. She pulled out many more demand avoidance strategies and then spat on the booklet. I tired to get her to read, she spat on the book too, then spat on me.

Bedtime was just as much of a battle. I must admit, I didn’t handle the avoidance very well today. When she wouldn’t put her night time pants on, I shouted at her. Which made her less likely to do it any quicker. I regretted it as soon as I shouted because I probably added another 20 minutes to the bedtime routine.

 

I am really anxious myself as I have the meeting with the head teacher tomorrow. I feel like a naughty school girl after the letter I wrote on Friday, and then given dinky’s behaviour, it seems even more reasonable that she doesn’t go on the trip to them.

I have to remain strong though. Dinky would not be kicking off like she is at the moment if the school paid any attention to me before she started, when she first started, three weeks after she started and last week. They didn’t listen and now they are complaining about her behaviour. Muppets!

They haven’t given her any concessions and refused point blank to take note of what worked at the previous school.

“Well, this is a different setting, we will wait and see what she is like”

Great! Well done SENCO, in the process of waiting and seeing, you have managed to let it go too far and now she refuses to go to school every morning! Well done you!

I was also worried because of something the head teacher said. She said that it seemed dinky didn’t want to leave school not the Friday gone, but the previous one. Obviously that is not the case, also if she tries to take that as dinky liking school then she really has got her wires crossed! I didn’t want to go in there and say ‘it is because she wanted to go to the park’, because it makes it sound like she is a spoilt brat and was just having a tantrum.
Luckily, the same woman that has written the paper I have read, also has her own facebook group. I mentioned the problem on there and got some great advice from both the woman and some other mums, on what the underlying causes are and also what I can do in order to change the situation in future.

Basically it is a mixture of routine, transition and sensory.

Dinky doesn’t find transitions out very easy, so she has put a step down into a routine of school followed by park, which takes her from busy, noisy classroom, to less busy, probably similar noise, outdoors, which is easier to cope with. She has done this as a step down to be able to manage the difference in school and home. She doesn’t recognise that the rain or other plans can affect the routine she has made and therefore needs to be aware of other plans or other ideas, other than the park.

 

I fully intend to bring the head teacher up to speed on PDA and prove to her that this is why dinky is the way she is, all I am waiting for is the assessment and for the doctor to put it in writing. It may not happen straight away and it may take months. However, that doesn’t change the facts. Also it means the structure of KS1 will probably be too much for dinky and I am trying to get them to see this and to prepare for it. If they carry on ignoring me than they are going to create a monster and I will have proof that I tried to warn you, and it won’t be to say ‘I told you so’ it will be to let them know they would be the ones responsible for it.

I now have a folder, a series of videos and documents to back up what I say.

It is not in my head, I am not a neurotic parent, Dinky has PDA and needs to be treated accordingly otherwise they will destroy her and they will make life harder for themselves in the long run.

I do not know how successful I will be, but I have to try right?

Add your comment here...

