How special school is going for Dinky… (Plus workmen)

So today marks the end of 3 weeks at Dinky’s new special school.

So far I’m really impressed.

Today Dinky got out of her taxi and ran to me, really excited to show me her star of the week award!
When I read it I almost cried!

She got Star of the week for ‘taking part in all the numeracy lessons this week’

To most people this is not a big deal. However when your child has been vilified in two mainstream schools for failing to comply and take part in the teachers lesson, being made out to be naughty and wilful, and worse… To be scrutinised under the Boxall profile because they believe the following…

“It is widely agreed that children with social, emotional and behavioural difficulties (SEBD) are the biggest challenge to the effective running of schools. These are children who do not respond to teachers’ best efforts, they fail to learn, they can leave teachers frustrated, quite often resentful and with their professional confidence undermined. They also spoil the atmosphere for the rest of the class, consuming the teacher’s time and energy, diverting it away from children who could use it so much better.”

To then go to a school who acknowledge her autism, take on board PDA, who actually realise that the more they try to get her to comply the less likely she is to do so… Gets results which are the norm in terms of a typically developing child- but is abso-frigging-loutely BRILLIANT for Dinky!

She managed to do 5 numeracy lessons in 5 days! Which meant that the staff found ways of making it fun, interesting and without massive demands, and Dinky responded with actually taking part and learning. In her 3rd year of education… Dinky is finally learning!

I could jump up and down and run round I’m so happy!

HOWEVER… It does come at a price. Dinky has reduced the already limited diet to next to nothing, she will only eat nuggets and veg at home for dinner, and she is only eating the veg at school.
School are worried and so am I. It’s great that she loves vegetables, and most people have the opposite problem, but I’m struggling to give her the other foods she needs.

This is only made worse by the fact that our boiler broke down at the beginning of the week and they keep finding more problems.
Meltdowns have been rife this week with the changes and coming home to workmen. Tuesday we had a new boiler and new radiators, Wednesday we had scaffolding put up, yesterday we had a replacement radiator and today we have had a system flush.

So Monday meltdown was because it was cold and she didn’t like the smell ( I think of the hot air from the fan heater).
Tuesday’s meltdown was because she had a new radiator in her bedroom and they moved the table in her room- plus no radiator in the living room.
Wednesday’s meltdown was because there was a man still in the house trying to sort out a blockage and we had scaffolding outside.
Thursday (yesterday)- was because they put up the radiator in the living room.
Today after the certificate, we had a much smaller meltdown in which she spent a while shouting and stomping and crying because there was yet another man in the house, and he spoke to her.

In other news….

I applied for the higher Mobility element for Dinky on the DLA due to her refusals to walk.
It was turned down, because the Muppet took one out of context line in the statement even more out of context.
Because Dinky seeks out movement experiences apparently she therefore consciously chooses not to walk!

I of course will appeal, but, honestly, the guy is a muppet!

So I won’t be driving anytime soon unless I find a really cheap car and hope it makes it through an MOT.
I’m not at ALL annoyed that my grandad is giving my brother his car for passing his test to use to get to work, while I have to miss out on being a part of Dinky’s school life until I can afford to by a car which isn’t a death trap, and having to take my ASD-PDA ect child on public transport which she hates.
Not AT ALL… Ok, maybe, a little. I really should be used it by now, but it is still hard to take.

Both my dad and I were turned down for loans.

Oooh but the new social worker seems really nice, and clued up, she is going to help me with the appeal.

Right now Dinky is playing disney infinity with my dad…

I need to go cook dinner…

MY GIRL GOT STAR OF THE WEEK! 🙂

4 thoughts on “How special school is going for Dinky… (Plus workmen)

  1. Great news all round! And yes, it sounds like she’s got a lot going on to deal with at the mo (I don’t like strange men in the house either 😉 ) but hopefully all will settle soon x

Add your comment here...

